Skip to content

Surfing the P&H Scorpio

February 13, 2009

The days only wipeout

It has been a while since I have been paddling, but I decided to change that this past Wednesday. I loaded the Scorpio on the car and headed to the beach to see how the Scorpio surfs. The waves were breaking pretty good considering that the wind was blowing less than 10mph. I caught some good waves and enjoyed playing in the surf. It was nice to get some paddling time in rougher water.

As for the Scorpio’s performance, I was not impressed. Though the boat handles nicely in the rough water, the high volume stern makes it surf waves very poorly. That wide stern just gets pushed around as you catch a wave and makes broaching inevitable. The Scorpio catches the waves easily due to the large stern, but riding them becomes difficult. All in all, I still like the Scorpio, but the Scorpio LV is probably better suited to surfing.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Leave a comment